Tutorial: Updating Your Profile

In this tutorial, you will learn how to access your profile on the Labs Platform. From there, you will have several tabs that allow you to make updates to your profile.

In this tutorial, you will learn how to access your profile on the Labs Platform.  From there, you will have several tabs that allow you to make updates to your profile.

Access the Profile Page

Once you are logged into the Labs Platform, you will have the ability to update and maintain your user profile.  The user profile screen is where you can add in your name, upload an image for your avatar, connect to external tools (such as GitHub) and change your password.

To access your profile, click on the circle icon in the top right of the screen.  The will show a drop down menu that will display your email, has a link for ‘Account Settings’ and is also where you can ‘Log Out’ of the platform.  Select either your email or the ‘Account Settings’ option to navigate to your profile.


Once there, you will be at the ‘My Account’ screen with three tabs: Profile, Tools and Security.

Profile Tab

On the profile tab, the user can update their name, add in their avatar and delete your account.

Update Your Name

To update your name, you can type in your first and last name.  Once you’ve typed in your name, you can click on ‘Save Changes’ to make the update permanent.

After you’ve typed in your name, if you hadn’t already uploaded an avatar photo, then your avatar icon will update automatically to include your initials.  This will appear throughout the platform to indicate where you have permissions and actions you’ve taken.

Update Photo

If you would like to upload a unique avatar for your profile, then you can do this via your profile.

First, you click on the ‘Upload Photo’ button.  This will open up a window where you can select a folder where you can upload your photos.

After you select your photo of choice, your avatar in the profile screen as well as the icon in the upper right will now display the selected photo.

Tools Tab

The tools tab is where you will be able to connect your Labs profile to other tools that you will use as you conduct your research on the platform.

Connect to GitHub

The Labs Platform has made it easy for you to connect to and bring in repositories from your GitHub Account.  To do this, you will first need to connect your Labs profile to GitHub.  When you click on the ‘Connect’ button on the Tools tab, you will be redirected to sign into your GitHub account.

After you sign into your GitHub account, you will then be redirected back to the Labs Platform.  You will now see that the button next to the GitHub tool now says ‘Disconnect’ instead of ‘Connect’.  This means that you have now successfully connected your GitHub account to the Labs Platform.

Disconnect from GitHub

If you want to disconnect the link between the Labs Platform and GitHub, then you have two methods for doing this: Disconnect and Revoke.

Disconnect

To disconnect from GitHub, this is easy to do.  You click on the ‘Disconnect’ button.  You will then see the button update and show ‘Connect’ once again.

Note, this does not revoke Labs from your GitHub account.  While your connection is severed, you will no longer be able to pull in or synchronize with GitHub, but the token from Labs is still authenticated with GitHub.  If you want to completely disconnect from GitHub, you would need to revoke from GitHub’s UI.

Revoke

If you want to completely revoke Labs access to your GitHub account, you will need to log into your GitHub account via GitHub’s Platform.

www.github.com

Once you are logged into your account, you will want to navigate to your profile settings and select ‘Applications’ from the left menu.

After you’ve selected ‘Applications’, you will see three available tabs in the main screen.  You must select the last tab labeled ‘Authorized OAuth Apps’.

Within the ‘Authorized OAuth Apps’ tab, you will see all applications that you’ve granted permission to access your GitHub account.  Click on the ellipsis menu on BlockScience Labs and select ‘Revoke’.

Security Tab

The security tab is where you can update your Labs Platform password.

To do this, you will first enter your existing password.  Then you can select a new password following the same requirements as when you created your account initially.

Passwords will require the following criteria:

  • 8 or more characters
  • At least one special character
  • Ex: !@#$%^&*(){}[]_
  • At least one number
  • At least one letter

Once you meet all the requirements, the criteria will all turn green and you can continue.

If your current password doesn’t match, if your new password doesn’t meet the requirements, or if your ‘New Password’ and your ‘Confirm New Password’ does match, then the ‘Save Changes’ button will remain grayed out.

If you need to reveal what you’ve typed, you can click on the ‘Eyeball’ icon in the right side of the text field to convert what you’ve typed from dots to what you’ve typed.

Once everything is correct, the ‘Save Changes’ button will switch from gray to orange.


Like What You See?

You can help fund BlockScience Labs and own a piece of its success! Check out our investment site to learn more at https://invest.blocksciencelabs.com.